HAPPY Wednesday all!  If you live in the Northeast I hope you’re starting to thaw out just a bit now that it’s March.  We have blue skies here and the snow is finally starting to melt on this balmy 37 degree day.  Just as the white landscape outside my window is starting to fade away into Spring, a new white landscape is being created in my house.  In the foyer to be exact.

Embrace My Space: White Out

The foyer is on my list of to-do-in-2014 projects.  Although this is an enormous project, we made a TON of progress in this space already!  We went from this:

Foyer Before

To this:

Embrace My Space: Tablecloth as Art

To this:

Embrace My Space: White Out

What. A. Change.  I mentioned way back when we first moved in that ALL of the wallpaper in this place had to go.  If you’re new to Embrace My Space, here’s a collage of all the lovely wallpaper we were contending with when we bought this place in the Fall of 2012.

wallpaper

Three down, three to go.  The first to go was the maroon wallpaper in our office and then we de-fruited the kitchen this past summer.  See those two transformations here (office) and here (kitchen).  The most recent victim was the brown on brown damask paper greeting our guests at the front door.  The damask paper truly wasn’t that bad, but brown is so not my color; it had to go.

You might be wondering why a color-lovin gal like me would go with a white paint.  The answer is twofold: I never used white paint before and I wanted my teal bookcase to be the star of the show.  I wanted to use a white with a purpose and finally decided that Alabaster by Sherwin Williams was the perfect choice.  Alabaster is a warm white, without being too creamy or ivory.  If you look closely where the wall meets the trim you can see a nice contrast between the warm, matte white walls and the glossy true white trim.

Since the foyer is two stories, I went with a colored ceiling to help define the space.  My painter custom mixed this shade, a lighter version of Restoration Hardware Silver Sage, for the ceilings.

Embrace My Space: White Out

While I was a bit hesitant to go with this non-color I’d never used before in such a big space, I’m super happy with the results.  When I finally emerge from behind the double doors to my bedroom each morning, even on the grayest of days I’m greeted by a nice bright space.  And there’s something to be said about clean, white walls.  Like a new composition book at the beginning of a school year, white walls are so full of possibility!

Embrace My Space: White Out

Unfortunately, in spite of all this pretty whiteness, there are a few things that are making me super sad now.  First, the carpet on the stairs.

Embrace My Space: White Out

What was once camouflaged in a sea of brown upon brown upon brown is now just a painfully brown eyesore.  The white walls take the dirtiness of this carpet to a new level.  Next, the brass sconces on either side of the office.

Embrace My Space: White Out

Used at the right time and place, brass can be cool.  Not here.  So there are two more projects that were just added to my list!

If you’re wondering why I decided to use the same white both above and below the chair rail, it’s because I would like to experiment with a stencil or a decal on the bottom part of the wall.  I’m still undecided on this so white it shall stay until I make up my mind!  I gave myself all year to complete this project, remember?!?

Do you use white walls in your home?  If so, do you use white with a purpose or do you use white as a way to hide from color? Come on, be honest! 😉

signature

