Tags

, , ,

HAPPY NEW YEAR!  I hope you all had a relaxing holiday and are ready to take 2014 by storm.  My home projects have taken a back seat to my new baby for the past few months.  The weather took a turn for the worse and running around is not as easy as it used to be, so I’ve been spending a lot of time inside.  But being shut in has its benefits – I have a lot of time to nitpick my poor house and, incidentally, develop material for the blog.

Over the past few weeks I’ve come up with a short list of projects I want to tackle this year.  It might be too ambitious or it might be a breeze.  With the little guy around, I find it hard to believe I’ll be able to paint a small bathroom in a reasonable amount of time.  But who knows, he may fall into a schedule over night and give me a little bit of predictability.

In no particular order, here’s what I’ve got up my sleeve for 2014.

MUDROOM CLOSET INSTALL.  I want to turn the hall closet off our entryway into a mudroom.  Right now the closet is stuffed with coats, boots and scarves.  You can barely see what’s in there because the lighting is so poor.  Matt and I also fell into the habit of throwing our shoes on the floor when we walk into the house.  There’s always a big pile right next to the door and it gets on my nerves.  With this new mudroom, shoe storage is a must!

My plan is to remove the current closet doors, build in a bench, add some upper and lower storage and give the space a fresh coat of paint.  My inspiration comes from this image I found while browsing Pinterest.

great storage/designphoto via 

This project will require a little demolition, which I’m not up for at this point (I don’t have the right tools) so I’ll bring someone in to build it out for me.  My hope is to design the storage and come up with a plan to add color, pattern and texture to the space.  I might also replace the current light fixture in the hall with a fun chandelier or pendant just like my inspiration image.  One of my New Year’s resolutions for 2014 is to learn how to install overhead light fixtures myself.  No more calling the electrician!

POWDER ROOM UPGRADE.  Our first floor bath has some ridiculous Burberry tartan wallpaper going on right now.  While it’s not completely offensive, this wallpaper is not necessarily my taste so it has to go!  I’m thinking this room will get an all-white makeover with some interesting artwork, a new mirror and lighting.

Powder Room Before

Also, because the pedestal sink provides zero storage in this tiny space, I want to get a vanity with some cabinets to store hand towels, cleaning supplies and tp.  I’d also like the vanity top to span the entire length of the room so there is ample space for hand soap and lotion next to the sink.

LAUNDRY ROOM REDESIGN.  Since the arrival of the little one, I’ve been doing a lot of laundry. Like, everyday.  We got a gorgeous LG washer/dryer set for Christmas that makes the laundry a little more enjoyable.  Despite these shiny, white beauties, the laundry room, with its beige paint, dingy floor and dim overhead light, is still a bit dismal.

By adding a countertop and cabinets, this small nook becomes a fully-functioning laundry room. Even though the space is designed for utility, bright egg-shell paint and banister spindles bring in a bit of personality.

Photo via

My plan is to brighten up the room with some fresh paint, a colorful rug and some functional storage like these fun cabinets in my inspirational image.

FOYER FACELIFT.  The final project percolating in my little head is a makeover of our foyer.  This two story space is expansive but falls flat when it comes to the design.  While I added this blue bookcase and tablecloth art, the wall color needs updating and the old damask wallpaper has got to go!

Embrace My Space: Tablecloth as Art

In addition to new paint and removing the wallpaper, my plan for this space includes installing new light fixtures on both the walls (sconces) and ceiling, revamping the handrail and spindles and adding a fun rug.

Right now I’m not committed to any particular order for tackling these projects, but I’m leaning toward starting with the laundry room makeover.  I know some people might complete these few projects in a matter of months, but I’m giving myself a generous timeline so I can make everything perfect!

So there you have it.  My first goals for 2014.  I’d love to hear what everyone else is planning.  Spill!

signature

