Tags

, , , , , ,

HO HO HO!  My living room is all decked out just in time for Santa!  I can’t believe Christmas is a little over a week away. This year flew by so fast.  I’m trying to stop time by enjoying lazy days by the Christmas tree.  It doesn’t seem to be working, but I am definitely very relaxed!  

This year I did the majority of my shopping online, so I’ve successfully avoided all of the retail craziness.  Not only was I able to shop in my jammies, but avoiding trips to the mall also gave me lots of time to spread the Christmas cheer at home.  I focused my decorating in our living room since that’s where our family spends the most time. 

Embrace My Space: Colorful Christmas

As most of you know, I have a bold decorating style so Christmas is a time when I can go over the top with color!  With all of the crazy, sparkly goodness out there, I stick with a simple color scheme to make sure my Christmas style stays cohesive.  My go-to colors are traditional red and green with a splash of turquoise, which complements the existing look of the space.

Embrace My Space: Colorful Christmas

Since our sofa is so big one of my favorite ways to transform my space for Christmas is with pillows.  Colorful holiday-inspired textiles turn the large white canvas into a cheerful place for snuggling and watching Christmas classics!  I couldn’t pass up these darling square pillows I found at Target.  The colors were perfect and, at $3 a pop, so was the price!  I bought one of each design!

Embrace My Space: Colorful Christmas

As I do every season, I updated my chalkboard with a simple statement.

Embrace My Space: Colorful Christmas

Last year we had our tree behind our sofa in the opposite corner of the room.  This year we opted to remove one of the chairs so the tree would be more of a focal point.

Embrace My Space: Colorful Christmas

More Target pillows! I love the turquoise and red reindeer pillow – he might be my favorite of the bunch.

Embrace My Space: Colorful Christmas

Shiny bulbs are sprinkled throughout the room, like this red one that hangs from my driftwood sculpture.  Another Target find are these brightly colored wooden Christmas signs.  At $1 each, these are the perfect way to add some holiday cheer to a table, desk or windowsill.

Embrace My Space: Colorful Christmas

For an extra layer of sparkle I hung a shiny wreath over the oversized mirror that anchors the gallery wall.

Embrace My Space: Colorful Christmas

I tucked multicolored ornaments into the bowl that’s displayed in our coffee table for some extra shine.

Embrace My Space: Colorful Christmas

Since our coffee table is glass top, I always decorate the middle so the top isn’t cluttered.  This year Christmas story books serve as visually interesting decor and are easily accessible for evening story time!

Embrace My Space: Colorful Christmas

The fireplace mantel is decked out in colorful Christmas “packages,” which are simple square Ikea mirrors covered in gift wrap and ribbon.  I also stuffed some tinsel and bulbs inside the fireplace for some unexpected fun.

Embrace My Space: Colorful Christmas

I hope you all enjoyed seeing how I decked the halls this year.  How do you decorate for Christmas?  Do you have a color theme or something else that guides you?

MERRY CHRISTMAS!

signature

