Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I’VE BEEN CRAFTING up a storm lately in an attempt to pass the time until the little one arrives.  Most of my recent projects have focused around the changing of the seasons – including my indoor and outdoor take on fall decorating that I blabbed about over the past two weeks.

If you take a quick inventory on Pinterest, there are at least a bazillion fall craft ideas out there for pumpkins.  Here’s one more!  What, did you think I was going to come up with something completely out of the ordinary?  Please, I have neither the creative brain power nor the wherewithal to think outside the box this week.  I’m too preoccupied with my baby’s pending, albeit undisclosed, arrival date to do much of anything other than busy work!

For my pumpkin craft, rather than use the real deal that would eventually rot, I picked up a few faux pumpkins from Michael’s.

Embrace My Space: Fall Pumpkin DIY

There’s my little black kitty, Des, posing with the pumpkins.  I’ve been trying to take a good picture of him with some pumpkins that I can use for Halloween.  He’s not very cooperative.  Look. At. The. Camera.  Gahh!

My original plan was to decoupage some pumpkins for the nursery with the wrapping paper I used to line the drawers of the changing table.

Embrace My Space: Changing Table

Other than that, I really wasn’t sure what I was going to do.  I bought a few spools of ribbon thinking that I would wrap the stems of the pumpkins with ribbon after I was done with the decoupage.

Embrace My Space: Fall Pumpkin DIY

I pulled out my leftover gingham wrapping paper and set to work adhering 1/4″ x 7″ strips of the paper to one of my smaller pumpkins using Mod Podge.  I applied the Mod Podge directly to the pumpkin using a sponge brush and then smoothed (as best I could) each strip of paper from the stem down to the bottom of the pumpkin.

After all the paper was in place it was wrinkled in some spots but, overall, looked pretty good! I let it dry overnight and then applied a top coat of Mod Podge over the wrapping paper, which really helped smooth out some of those original wrinkles.  For the finishing touch, I took a leaf from one of the pumpkins, spray painted it green and hot glued it to my gingham pumpkin.

It looked really cute, but I realized that I should probably mix it up a bit so I used the ribbon I purchased and some left over rick rack to adorn two of the other pumpkins.  All I did was hot glue strips of ribbon/rick rack to the pumpkins.  Easy peasy and they look totally cute as a group.

Embrace My Space: Fall Pumpkin DIY

The three of them together kinda reminds me of what you’d see in the pumpkin patch in Wonderland.

Embrace My Space: Fall Pumpkin DIY

Don’t they look cute on the cube storage in the nursery?  I think they add just the right touch of fall, while still complementing the room quite well.

Embrace My Space: Fall Pumpkin DIY

The mix of colors, sizes and styles of the pumpkins is very playful – perfect for a baby’s room if I do say so myself.  I especially love how these three little guys look between Mr. Frog and The World.

Embrace My Space: Fall Pumpkin DIY

Are you wondering what I did with the rest of the pumpkins?  Nothing, yet.  But I do have something in mind.  I’ll be sure to update you after I work my magic on the rest of my pumpkin patch!

Do you have any crafty ways that you’re jazzing up your pumpkins to match your decor?  Are you a pumpkin purist or are you unashamed of using a little faux fall stuff here and there?

signature

