Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

THE TIME HAS COME for me to do a side by side comparison of the nursery before and after its big makeover!  I still have a few tweaks to make but the room is essentially done!  Let’s take a look at the space before we moved in.

Embrace My Space: Guest Bedroom 1.0

And here’s a shot of the space from when it was serving as a guest bedroom.

Embrace My Space: Guest Bedroom

And here’s the space now, all ready for baby!

Embrace My Space: Nursery Reveal

If you’ve been following my progress in the nursery, you know that this space is full of DIY projects.  I refinished the changing table using some creamy yellow paint, created a sweet typography mirror to hang above the changing table and crafted a chandelier-inspired mobile for above the crib out of a hanging planter, ribbon and cardstock.

Embrace My Space: Nursery

Since we don’t know if baby Bates is a boy or a girl, we went with a gender neutral palette full of turquoises, yellows and greys.  The space is grounded by a natural fiber rug in a rainbow of colors fit for a little boy or girl!

Embrace My Space: Nursery Reveal

The nursery really doesn’t have a theme.  We just filled it with colors and things that we love, which is my not-so-secret guide for creating comfortable spaces where I’ll want to spend time!

The very first DIY project I tackled for the nursery was this chalkboard paint striped dresser.  I wanted to turn the old dresser into something cute and practical for the nursery.  With the chalkboard stripes, I’m able to put a label on each drawer so Matt and friends/family can help me put away laundry when I’m too tired to provide instruction!

Embrace My Space: Nursery Reveal

And speaking of firsts, this colorful faux steer head was the very first piece of decor we purchased for the nursery.  I already ordered the rug and when I saw this guy at HomeGoods I knew he’d be the perfect complement to the colorful foundation I was creating in the space.  It’s the cheeky piece that makes the nursery a playful space that’s not taken too seriously.

Embrace My Space: Nursery Reveal

My mom and I made custom curtains by sewing a strip of colorful Otomi fabric onto the top of panels I bought at Target.  The fabric is called Mexico Springtime: United Love and you can find it at Spoonflower.  I am obsessed with Otomi fabric and, in this color scheme, I just couldn’t love these curtains more!

Embrace My Space: Nursery Curtains

While we’re on the topic, my mom also sewed this pillow for on the grey wingback chair.  The little heart is made from the swatch I purchased from Spoonflower when I was deciding whether the fabric was going to work for the curtains.  I love that fabric so much I just couldn’t stand to see any of it go to waste! The pom-pom trim says nursery like nothing else can.

Embrace My Space: Nursery Reveal

Another really fun accessory that I love, love, love is the “Why’d the chicken cross the road?” artwork that hangs above the crib.  This is actually a photo I snapped when Matt and I were celebrating our anniversary in Key West, Florida.  The rooster was crossing Duval Street when I caught him in the perfect position for a photo op.  I simply blew up my photo onto a canvas at the Easy Canvas Prints website for about $100.  It’s that easy.  Art doesn’t have to be expensive.

Embrace My Space: Nursery Reveal

We scored the deal of a lifetime on our crib, which is from Restoration Hardware Baby & Child.  Typically retailing for well over $900 with tax and shipping, we picked up this Kenwood panel crib from our local Restoration Hardware outlet for around $300.  While there are less expensive cribs out there, I was willing to go for this crib for several reasons: the Kenwood’s driftwood finish was perfect for our nursery, it’s gender neutral in design and it’s one of the only pieces of furniture we actually had to purchase for the space.

All of the other furniture in the nursery, with the exception of the storage cubes (which didn’t break the bank at around $40 from Target), was given to us!  This is the power of a fresh coat of paint or new fabric!

The most challenging and time-consuming project I tackled in the nursery was the polka-dot ceiling.  I used a 12×12 stencil to sponge paint tiny white dots all over the ceiling.  It’s a very subtle design, but adds just the right amount of something special to the ever-ignored 5th wall!

Embrace My Space: Nursery Reveal

The nursery is also filled with sentimental pieces that Matt and I have collected throughout the years.  These tiki masks, which we bought in St. Lucia during our honeymoon, were a late-comer to the party.  The wall above the changing table needed to be filled out just a bit more.  I didn’t really want to turn this area into a mini gallery wall and I didn’t want to add height by placing something on the top of the changing table because I wanted that area to be free for practical nursery supplies.

Embrace My Space: Nursery Reveal

When I was deciding what to do here, it occurred to me that the tiki masks still didn’t have a home in our new place and that they’d be the perfect solution.  The masks are fun colors that add a little pop to this side of the nursery and, again, aren’t taking themselves too seriously.

The artist who paints these masks works from a studio in the same valley where our honeymoon resort was located.  Each mask is unique and Matt and I had a blast picking out the few we liked best.  If you’re digging these colorful little guys but don’t have a trip to St. Lucia in your future, you can order them online here.

Embrace My Space: Nursery Reveal

Beneath the tiki masks is a basket full o’ baby stuff that I thought would be good to have on hand.  But, really, what do I know?

Embrace My Space: Nursery Reveal

There you have it, friends.  The nursery is ready.  Just need to add the baby.  Hmmm…and I thought painting that polka-dot ceiling was the hard part 😉

signature

