Tags

, , , , , ,

OUR 90s HOUSE is full of brass. Doorknobs, hinges, vent covers, ceiling fans and cabinet hardware. It’s everywhere! I don’t necessarily dislike brass, I just need it in smaller doses.

Maybe one day we’ll remove all of our brass.  For right now I’m satisfied with a little brass removal in the kitchen, a space I’ve been working to refresh for the past few weeks.  You’ll recall that when we moved in our kitchen looked a little something like this:

Kitchen Before

After removing the wallpaper and giving the room a fresh coat of paint (Silver Sage by Restoration Hardware) it looked much less 1993 and much more 2013.  You can read more about our kitchen updates here.

Embrace My Space: Kitchen

While the new paint job looks great, we still had that pesky brass hardware seriously dating our kitchen.

Embrace My Space: Kitchen Updates

So I did what any good DIYer would do.  I bought a can of spray paint and blasted away all that brass.  To be exact, I used Rust-Oleum Hammered spray paint in oil rubbed bronze.

This Rust-Oleum Hammered finish spray paint is great to use on metal furniture or mailboxes because it prevents rust and sprays on in a somewhat coarse texture that hides imperfections.  The brass hardware in our kitchen appears to be original to our house so there were some dings and scratches in the metal surface.  The “hammered” finish on the spray paint took care of hiding all of these imperfections.  Here’s a look at the kitchen with the “new” hardware:

Embrace My Space: Kitchen Updates

It always amazes me how something as simple as upgrading the cabinet hardware can make such a huge impact in a space.  In this case, since the style of my hardware isn’t all that offensive, I took the extremely cheap and easy route of spray painting all 40 of the knobs.  I used oil rubbed bronze finish because it’s current and I thought it would look the best on the not very smooth surface I had to work with here.

Embrace My Space: Kitchen Updates

The cost for this upgrade – less than $6.  If I purchased new hardware, I easily would have spent over $200 for this upgrade, something I’m just not willing to do right now! My short term goal for the kitchen is to make it more livable for the time being and then to really splurge on all the great upgrades when we fully renovate the space in the next 5 years or so.

I also added a “backsplash” of sorts behind the stove to catch errant sauce and grease.  These fun green accents are actually ceramic candle chargers I found on sale at Yankee Candle for $2 a pop.  When I bought them I had absolutely no clue what to do with them, so they sat on the bottom level of our coffee table collecting dust for quite some time.

Embrace My Space: Kitchen Updates

Then I had the brilliant idea to use them to add some color and texture behind the stove.  I installed them using Command damage-free picture hanging strips and so far they haven’t budged!  These things are definitely for more than just a college dorm room.

Embrace My Space: Tablecloth as Art

What do you think of this simple upgrade?  Do you ever give a space a refresh before renovating just to make it more livable until your dream space becomes a reality?

signature

