Tags

, , , ,

DESPITE MY LACK of posts in the past week, I have been doing some work around here!  I just haven’t completed many projects so I don’t have many “afters” to share.  I’m coming into the home stretch on the nursery and there are only a few details left, but posting about them is proving to be a challenge due to work, end of summer busyness, actually trying to complete the projects and my general lack of energy these days.

Here’s what’s new and exciting in the nursery.  I hung some artwork.  Yep, that’s it.  Don’t judge me.  I’m a little tired and have been taking everyone’s advice to “sleep while I can” very seriously!

Embrace My Space: Nursery

There’s actually a pretty cool story behind this artwork.  Matt and I bought it while we were in St. Lucia for our honeymoon two years ago.  It’s a re-creation of an Arawak Indian petroglyph that is carved into a rock near the island’s Dauphin River.  The petroglyph depicts a father, mother and child.  When we originally saw it we were drawn to the vibrant colors (turquoise – go figure!), but when we learned more about it we thought it would be really cool to hang in our baby’s room some day.  And that day is here. Time flies!

Embrace My Space: Nursery

Can you see the mommy, daddy and baby?  The colors work well with the rest of the space and I think it adds a nice little punch of color to this corner of the room.  I just want to talk briefly about this lovely grey wingback chair I posted last week.  In case you don’t remember, here’s a reminder of what it looked like before its transformation.

Embrace My Space: WIngback Redesign

Those pictures were taken on my iPhone, so the quality is not all that great.  That is another reason why I wanted to post some more photos of this corner of the room.  I wanted you to be able to see the true beauty of the chair!

I guess I have to give myself some credit for one other project in the nursery.  We received a ton of books, toys and supplies at our baby shower at the end of August!  I found a home for all of these items on our storage cubes that I previously updated with some fun cardstock.

Embrace My Space: Nursery

You’ll notice in the below photo that where there was once a changing table underneath the mirror there is now a big empty space.  I’ve been working on refinishing the changing table, so it’s currently living in the garage.  Once I’m done with that and I find someone to help Matt move it back upstairs, all of the big projects for the nursery will be complete! Embrace My Space: Nursery

Let’s revisit my to-do list:

  • Refinish the changing table (this one gets a half check mark because I’m almost done with it!)
  • Organize changing supplies in/on the changing table (can’t do this one until number one is complete)
  • Dress the crib with bedding (still waiting on the crib skirt to arrive)
  • Add more wall décor (I think I’m done with this one)
  • Complete the “nursing” area with chair, lamp and table (still trying to decide if I even need a little table here with the storage cubes so close.  I’ll make a final decision once the changing table is back in place because that will help me determine if I have enough space)
  • Make a throw pillow for the chair
  • Find the perfect houseplant and a spot for it
  • Purchase and install blackout shades for the window (this is a new item that I forgot to add to the list last time)
  • _____________________ Anything else I’m forgetting to add, insert here!!!

To see the entire evolution of the space from guest room to nursery, take a look at this post I pulled together a few weeks back.

I hope you all have a great week!  I’ll be back later this week with a little update I made to the kitchen.  See you all then!

signature

