Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

HEY, need to fill that large blank space in your living room?  A gallery wall is a fun and flexible way to display your artwork with maximum impact.  I love using a gallery wall because it grows with your collection.  Here’s a look at the gallery wall in our living room from last fall.

Embrace My Space: Living Room

We just moved into our new home and wanted to get some art up on the walls so it felt like we lived here.  The result was underwhelming, but the effort helped to empty a few boxes.  Next we painted the walls.  This made the living room look a whole lot better, but it still didn’t make the gallery wall very impressive!

Embrace My Space: Living Room

Fast forward a few months.  After a recent Sunday morning pre-yoga hanging session, Matt and I expanded the gallery wall quite a bit. A little shuffling of the stuff that was already in place, plus the addition of a few new friends and we are now on our way to a great looking gallery!

Embrace My Space: Gallery Wall

There’s not a whole lot of rhyme or reason to how I do a gallery wall.  I like to eyeball the composition once it’s up on the wall, which is a source of great frustration for my husband who gets to hang everything for me.  If you examine the wall closely, there is a thread that connects each of the pieces together.  I do this using either the color of the art or the size/shape of the frame, while still keeping the overall composition in mind.

Embrace My Space: Gallery Wall

It’s important to create some type of balance when composing a gallery wall.  An easy way to achieve balance is to start with one large piece and build out around it.  Your large piece does not have to be right in the center of your gallery in order to achieve balance.  My gallery is a bit asymmetrical, with the large mirror favoring the right side of the composition.  Instead of having the exact same number/shapes of artwork on either side of the grounding piece, I create balance in my gallery by incorporating the same colors/shapes/themes on both sides of my grounding piece.  For example, although different sizes and in different types of frames, the tropical oil paintings on each side of the mirror create balance in the gallery wall.  Also notice the role the lamp plays in balancing out the right side of the composition, which has fewer art pieces than the left.

Embrace My Space: Gallery Wall

You might recognize my little Fourth of July DIY American Flag joined the party, as well as a few other pieces that had been hidden away in boxes since the move.

Embrace My Space: Gallery Wall

As I always try to do throughout the year, I updated my gilt chalkboard with a seasonally inspired saying.  I say “try” because up until the Fourth of July my chalkboard still said “give thanks”, which, while applicable all year round, was technically written for Thanksgiving.  Ooops.  Like my DIY typography mirror in the nursery, the saying is once again taken from a 90s alternative song.

Embrace My Space: Gallery Wall

The living room is where we spend the majority of our time, which is a good thing because it’s my favorite room in the house right now.  Below is a shot of the other side of the room, which boasts lovely vertical stripes of Restoration Hardware Silver Sage and Sea Green paints.  As a side note, we can’t get our fireplace to work.  I guess that’s a cold-weather project because until just now I hadn’t really thought about that for months.

Embrace My Space: Gallery Wall

I also did some new styling on our TV stand with some seashells and a piece of driftwood adorned with paper flowers that I found at HomeGoods.  I really need to move closer to the coast so I can quit spending money on naturally occurring objects for décor.  While I always pick for shells or driftwood while I’m on vacation, I don’t think Matt would appreciate me trying to carry a piece of driftwood this large on to the plane.  He was embarrassed enough when I made him carry stinky seashells home from our trip this April.  Embrace My Space: Gallery Wall

Do you have a gallery wall or are you thinking of incorporating one?  Do you like my eclectic take on the wall or do you prefer sticking to a theme of matching frame colors or artwork styles?

signature

