Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

MY MOM has been asking me to organize all of my nursery projects so she can show them to her friends.  Even though it’s far from complete, I agreed it would be a good idea to compile a post showing the progress of the nursery and put together a list of what’s left to be done.  So here goes.

I’ll start with my nursery pin board and then walk you through the updates I’ve made.  I gathered up the below images to help guide me through decorating the nursery.  We wont know the baby’s gender until the big day, so my goal was to pull together inspirational images that would help me create a space fit for a little boy or girl.

This is a real-life pin board, with pictures, magazine clippings, fabric swatches, paint chips and push pins!  While I love Pinterest, it’s much easier to click your mouse to add an image to a virtual pin board than it is to actually gather physical materials for a real pin board.  The result of taking the time to create a real pin board is a focused and refined inspiration for your space.

Nursery Pinboard Reveal

Let’s start with the space from the beginning, shall we?  This is a photo of the room from when we did the final walk-through of our home last October.  Wow, I can’t believe we’ve lived here for almost a year already!

Embrace My Space: Guest Bedroom 1.0

And here is the same shot of the room as it looks now!Embrace My Space: Nursery Curtains

The first thing I did was update the space with paint on the walls and the ceiling.  I painted the walls Tranquil Bay by Valspar to give the space a serene backdrop.  The ceiling color is called Soft Cream, also by Valspar.  I also added this natural fiber area rug, which came from Ballard Designs, to add a playful foundation to the space.

Embrace My Space: Painting the Ceiling

Not only did I paint the ceiling in a contrasting color, but I also applied a polka dot stencil to add some interest to the ever-neglected fifth wall.  My favorite handyman installed nice thick crown molding, which I painted crisp white, to set off the creamy yellow ceiling.

Embrace My Space: Nursery

After all the painting and dirty work was done it was time to move on to the fun stuff – DIY projects!  The first thing I tackled was a dresser makeover to store all of the little one’s soft stuff.

Embrace My Space: DIY Chalkboard Dresser

The grey stripes on the dresser are done with chalkboard paint!  Check out this post for my step-by-step tutorial for this fun and functional makeover.  My next DIY project was this sweet typography artwork applied over a mirror.

Embrace My Space

I chose lyrics from a favorite song to make this charming wall décor.  Check out this post if you want to know more about how I made it!  My next project was one that everyone seems to be DIY-ing for baby’s room – a mobile for above the crib!

Embrace My Space: Nursery Chandelier

I crafted this cheap and easy project using a few sheets of cardstock, ribbon and a metal hanging basket frame.  Find out how I made it here.  Next on the list was a simple upgrade to a plain old cube storage unit.

Embrace My Space: Nursery

For this project, I nailed a sheet of cardstock to the back of each cubby hole to customize an otherwise boring storage unit!  Finally, the most recent project I completed and one that my mom helped me with was upgrading simple Target window panels with an adorable otomi fabric accent.

Embrace My Space: Nursery Curtains

Check out this post to see how we made these super cute custom curtains.  It’s really hard for me to pick a favorite project because looking back now they are all just so damn cute!  I must say, however, that the addition of the curtains to the space probably made the biggest impact of all the DIY projects.

Embrace My Space: Nursery Curtains

Here are a few more pictures of the space so you can get an idea of how it looks so far:

Embrace My Space: Nursery Curtains

Embrace My Space: Nursery Curtains

Embrace My Space: Nursery Curtains

Embrace My Space

Embrace My Space: Nursery Mobile

For inquiring minds, my crib is the Kenwood panel crib from Restoration Hardware.  Got it at the outlet store for a steal!

I know, you must be thinking “What could she possibly have left to do after all of that work???”  Well, here’s my list:

  • Refinish the changing table
  • Organize changing supplies in/on the changing table
  • Dress the crib with bedding
  • Add more wall décor
  • Complete the “nursing” area with chair, lamp and table
  • Make a throw pillow for the chair
  • Find the perfect houseplant and a spot for it
  • _____________________ Anything else I’m forgetting to add, insert here!!!

Can I get it all done in the next 49 days?  I sure hope so because baby will be here before we know it!  What is your favorite project so far?  Anything else you want to know more about, just ask!

signature

