Tags

, , , , ,

A COUPLE WEEKS ago I revealed the pinboard for my nursery design here.  I’ve been showing you bits and pieces of the nursery as part of the Inspired Design Challenge, but I have many more projects to share (and many more to finish)!  Let’s revisit my pinboard so you can see my inspirational photos.

Pinboard

Today we’re talking about two inspirational images from my pinboard: the flatweave rug and the cube storage unit.

FLATWEAVE RUG

Embrace My Space: Nursery

Although I haven’t mentioned it directly, I already gave you a glimpse of the nursery’s showstopper in some previous posts – the Calypso flatweave rug from Ballard Designs.  When I saw this rug in the catalogue a few months ago I knew it had to be mine.

Calypso Rug: Ballard

Photo via

The playful patchwork in a rainbow of hues sang to me and it turned out to be the perfect foundation for my nursery design.  The rug was the first thing I purchased for the nursery and everything else has fallen into place around it.  Other than paint on the walls, the area rug covers the largest surface in the space.  This is why I generally like to pick out a rug for my design first.  It’s much easier to work around a rug than to try to find one that makes sense with an otherwise finished space.  And while you can get away with easily slipping in a solid sisal or jute rug to finish off your space, my “buy the rug first” rule is especially helpful when you know you want to use a colored or patterned rug.

Embrace My Space: Nursery

The second floor of our home has wall-to-wall carpet, but that doesn’t stop me from using area rugs pretty much everywhere!  In this instance, the thin flatweave rug lays nicely over the plush pile of the carpet and draws your eye away from the boring beige foundation.

CUBE STORAGE

The second element of my pinboard I want to talk about today is the Closet Maid eight cube organizer that I purchased for the nursery.  After browsing Pinterest for ideas, I decided one of these babies would be the perfect low-cost addition to the space beneath the window.  Here are a few Pins from my nursery pinboard that inspired the idea:

Featured Nursery: Amy's Fabric-Fabulous Space

Photo via

Ruffled Crib Skirt Tutorial {Nursery Bedding Reveal}

Photo via

gigis room cg

Photo via

great furniture piece for a nursery

Photo via

I assembled the cubes according to the package instructions.  My unit came from Target, but I’ve seen these sold everywhere from Staples to Walmart.  It was on sale for under $40.  Score.

Embrace My Space: Nursery

I knew I wanted to spice up the cubes a bit, but I didn’t want to paint them since I already have the painted chalkboard stripe dresser in the nursery and also plan to have another painted piece in the space.  My solution was to attach a sheet of cardstock behind each cube to add some visual interest without much work! I chose some pretty teal scrollwork and creamy yellow cardstock to back my storage unit.

Embrace My Space: Nursery

The cardstock was already the perfect size to fit behind each cube so I didn’t need to do any cutting.  I simply turned the storage unit on its side and placed the cardstock in the desired spots.  The storage cubes came with cardboard backings for four of the eight cubes.  I’m not sure why it only comes with four, but that worked for me because I placed the scrollwork cardstock in front of the cardboard backings.  Without doing this you would have been able to see through the scrollwork to the wall, which is not something I wanted.  I carefully nailed each piece of cardstock to the back of the storage cubes with the tiny nails provided with the storage unit.

Embrace My Space: Nursery

After everything was nailed into place I turned the storage cubes upright to admire my work.  I love how a few dollars can make such an impact on something that is otherwise quite ordinary.

Embrace My Space: Nursery

Then I stuffed the storage cubes full of baby goodness.  I’m sure I’ll have more fun stuff to pack in here after my baby shower later this month, but I’ve already accumulated quite a bit!

Embrace My Space: Nursery

The woven baskets are from World Market, which, coincidentally, is the final inspiration store for the Inspired Design Challenge!  I’m sure this wont look nearly as organized once baby arrives, but it’s nice to sit back and admire the beautiful order that it’s in until then.

Embrace My Space: Nursery

I think the storage unit is the perfect mix of functionality and personalization.  There are plenty of cubes for books, toys and supplies, while still allowing space for some completely decorative pieces.  It’s also the perfect size to fit right under the window without blocking any of the view.  Oh, and speaking of the window, how ’bout them curtains?  More on those in another post!

Embrace My Space: Nursery

Had to give a shout out to my home town in the nursery!  This ridiculously cute sign is from Garbella on Etsy.  It just so happened to be the perfect colors for the nursery, so I couldn’t pass it up when I saw her booth at the Three Rivers Arts Festival this summer.  Once all of my furniture is in place and I have a better feel for the space, I might hang this guy up on the wall.  Until then, he’ll look pretty right here.

The nursery is really starting to shape up!  I hope you are enjoying following along as I get this space ready for our newest family member.

signature

