Tags

, , , , ,

MY HUBBY DESERVES a standing ovation for all the stuff I’ve made him do around the house recently.  Let’s just say I’ve saved the pregnant lady card for the jobs that I really don’t want to do.  Those are mainly the jobs that involve using the hand drill.  This week’s task involved hanging our curtains in the master bedroom.

As you all know I’ve been working on getting our master bedroom into shape in the past few weeks.  We started out looking like this (previous homeowner’s stuff):

Embrace My Space: Bedroom Before

Then transformed it into this by rearranging the furniture and painting the walls a subtle cool blue:

Embrace My Space: Bedroom Progress

The master bedroom was previously set up in an awkward manner.

Embrace My Space: Bedroom Before

We decided to flip the bed to the opposite wall because I like the symmetry created by having a window on either side of the bed.

Embrace My Space: Bedroom Progress

I love the look of all white bedding, but with the white-washed furniture, cool blue walls and turquoise bed, we really needed some color to warm up the space.  My solution was to get some coral tones to balance out the icy hues.

Embrace My Space: Master Bedroom

A vintage-like lightweight quilt and some coral accent pillows did wonders for warming up the space.  All of the new bedding is from Target!  While I was there I also picked up a few pairs of Threshold window panels to finish off the windows.  I love the look of bamboo shades layered underneath simple curtains.  Here’s the finished look:

Embrace My Space: Master Bedroom

We re-used the previous homeowner’s window hardware, which is awesome because it can get expensive to outfit your windows from top to bottom.

Embrace My Space: Master Bedroom

I would have loved to hang the curtains the teensiest bit closer to the ceiling, but when you buy standard length curtains you don’t always have the option of achieving the perfect length.  These panels are 84″ long, which is a little too short, but the next size up is 95″ long, which is way too long.  Typically, I’d hang too-short curtains using clip rings to add a bit of extra length.  These curtains have grommets so that wasn’t an option here.  At the end of the day, I’m happy with the look and I’m even happier that the curtains are UP!

Embrace My Space: Master Bedroom

The subtle stripes on the curtains look great with the bedding and pillows.  We hung a third set on the other window in the office near Matt’s dresser.

Embrace My Space: Master Bedroom

I hope you all like the new look!

Linking up to the Remodelaholic Blog!

signature

