Tags

, , , , ,

I’VE BEEN SPENDING a lot of time on a ladder recently.  My mom doesn’t like it, but these spots ain’t gonna paint themselves!  And chances of my husband painting them are slim.  But I don’t blame him.  This.project.took.FOR-EV-ER!

Embrace My Space: Nursery

That, my friends, is the ceiling in the nursery.  Remember when I told you that I painted the ceiling yellow for a nice contrast with the tranquil teal walls?  Well, I didn’t stop there.  I decided to paint itty-bitty polka dots all over the ceiling.  My inspiration for this project was a gorgeous shot I came across on the website of Percy & Tara, the owners of Jersey Ice Cream Co.  I did a photo shoot of their South Philly row house for Houzz.com a couple of months ago.  Check that out here if you haven’t seen it!Jersey Ice Cream Co

I love how Percy & Tara’s polka dots add subtle depth in this shot, and I wanted to achieve something similar in baby Bates’s nursery.

I did this freehand of course.

Just kidding.  I’m not THAT crazy.  I used this stencil that I found on Etsy at The Stencil Closet.

Embrace My Space: Nursery

The pattern was too tight for the look I wanted so I used every other dot in the stencil.  See the difference in the photo below on the right.

Embrace My Space: Nursery

I used the end of a mini roller sponge to apply the paint to the ceiling.  I started in one corner of the room and worked my way out.  When using a stencil like this you need to overlap the pattern slightly each time you add more paint in order to stay on track.  I had to climb the step ladder two times for each set of dots I stenciled, once to tape the stencil in place and then again to stamp on the paint.  I’m exhausted just writing about it.  Overall, I estimate that this project took about 14 hours.

Embrace My Space: Nursery

After the outside edges of the ceiling were finished, I called upon my handyman to install the crown molding.  I painted the molding white before it was installed so the only painting I had to do after the fact was to touch up the seams and nail holes.  This was a good move since I’m pretty much over being on a ladder and waking up with a sore neck.

Embrace My Space: Nursery

The crisp white molding really does wonders to set off the yellow ceiling.

Embrace My Space: Nursery

I think the little white dots add the perfect touch to the ceiling.  I hope this baby appreciates all of my hard work and attention to detail!!!

Embrace My Space: Nursery

What does everyone think?  Was I crazy for undertaking this project or do you think the results were worth the effort?

Embrace My Space: Nursery

I have been really busy in the nursery recently, so I’ll have more updates for you soon.  Until next time!

xoxoSara

