Tags

, , , , , ,

Inspired Design Challenge

WELCOME TO WEEK ONE of the Inspired Design Challenge.  This week the ladies and I are presenting projects inspired by Target!  Through partnership with some great designers, Target has really stepped up its style over the past few years.  Target’s new Threshold home collection always slows me down as I’m browsing the aisles of the home décor section.  My project for this week was inspired by these Threshold pieces:

Embrace My Space: Inspired Design Challenge

If you’ve been around Embrace My Space you know that I’m a big fan of painted furniture and chalkboard paint, two things the Threshold collection incorporates with class and sophistication.  I also love how Threshold mutes its poppy colors with neutral tones of grey and tan.  Combining all of these ideas led me to create this piece for baby Bates’s new nursery.

Chalkboard Stripe Dresser

This was a relatively easy project as far as painting furniture goes.  While I typically find myself exhausted by sanding through multiple layers of shiny veneers to prep a piece for paint (see my post here about down and dirty furniture refinishing), all this piece required was a light sanding before it was ready for paint!

Chalkboard Stripe Dresser

Here’s how I did it:

1.  I started out by wiping down the dresser to remove all the dirt and removed the existing knobs.  Then I gave it a light standing with 100 grit sandpaper just to prep the surface for paint.

2.  Throwing caution to the wind, I skipped priming and went straight to painting the piece with some Soft Cream paint that I had left over from painting the ceiling in the nursery.  I then used my level to create one large stripe across the front of each drawer, marking each stripe with a pencil.  Using blue painters’ tape, I taped across my pencil marks so I could paint the stripes.

3.  I brushed on a few coats of grey chalkboard paint for the stripes using Martha Stewart Chalkboard Paint that I purchased at a local craft store.  The paint went on looking more taupe, but once it dried it became a sophisticated shade of grey.

Martha Stewart Chalkboard Paint

4.  After my final coat of paint for the stripes was just about dry I removed the tape and did touch up work where necessary.  I used a Mr. Clean Magic Eraser to take off any stray pencil marks that went uncovered by the grey paint.  Then I painted two thin coats of Minwax clear gloss polycrylic over the yellow paint only to give the dresser a slightly shiny and very durable finish.  The stripes were left bare so that I’d be able to write on the drawers with chalk!  For the final touch, I added chrome and white drawer pulls from Home Depot.

Chalkboard Stripe Dresser

I really love how it turned out and think the chalkboard stripes add just the right amount of playfulness to the nursery.  Not only does it look cute, it’s also quite functional.  Now Matt wont have to ask me where anything goes when he’s helping me with laundry.  Although, I might need to explain to him the difference between a onesie and a sleeper!

Chalkboard Stripe Dresser

I’m not 100% certain that I will need to store these types of things in this dresser, but the chalkboard paint makes that an easy fix.  Once I know what functions for us in the nursery, I’ll just erase the current labels and write in new ones!

Chalkboard Stripe Dresser

My Target-inspired project is complete!  Now I need to get moving on to the rest of the nursery since there’s still a lot left to do, not to mention the next four projects in the Inspired Design Challenge!  The blog is going to be quite busy over the next few months.  Please take some time today to hop on over to the blogs of the other ladies to see what they’ve come up with for their Target-inspired projects.  Here’s the inspiration they are working with this week:

Inspired Design Challenge: Target

Inspired Design Challenge: TargetClockwise from the top-left:

How do you like my Target-inspired project?  Do you have something from the Threshold collection that you’ve been eyeing recently??  I’d love to hear from you!

xoxoSara

