Tags

, , , , , , ,

I PAINTED OUR front door pink.  Sorry about that, Matt, but it’s what any rational woman would do when left to her own devices.  When I told Matt about the color I picked out for the front door, he told me that if he didn’t like the finished product I was never allowed to step foot in the paint department without him.  Hmph.  Before I painted the door I would describe the color as traditional hunter green mixed with mud.Embrace My Space:  Pink Front DoorDoes anybody out there like this?  Anybody?  Didn’t think so.  The front of our house is beige siding with beige shutters and some light red and brown brick.  The green door wasn’t doing anything for me.  My kitties were equally unimpressed.

Embrace My Space: Pink Front DoorIf you’ve been following Embrace My Space, you know by now that I love colorful front doors.  I put together an entire post (here) based on the front doors of Key West and the bright green front door at our old house won third place in HGTV’s Most Fantastic Front Door contest (see more about that here).  After we painted our old front door green I began to notice green front doors EVERYWHERE!  Thus, we needed a different color for the door on our new house.  I figured pink was a good choice.  But what color pink?  There are so many.

My inspiration for the perfect shade of pink came from this photo that I found on Pinterest.  I needed to find a similarly vibrant color that would brighten up the otherwise bland front of our house.

Photo via

Enter Fuchsia Flock by Olympic.  And here she is now.  The color is very similar to my inspirational photo.  Ignore the rest of the foyer because that’s not what this post is about.  It’s not done yet.  Who am I kidding, it’s not even started.  Embrace My Space: Pink Front DoorI love how the pink picks up on some of the accents displayed in our bookcase.  Although it’s very subtle, the connection is there and it ties everything together.  And, yes, I also painted the inside of the door so we see that glorious pink whether we are inside or out.

Embrace My Space: Pink Front Door

And while we’re on the subject, isn’t this bookcase bad ass?  Well, I guess if you like turquoise you’d agree.  Trust me, it will look much better once I whip this foyer into shape.  Here’s a closer look of some of the goodies on the shelves.

Embrace My Space: Pink Front Door

You might be wondering how the front door looks from outside.  This is actually causing me some stress.  Take a look at the photos below.

Embrace My Space: Pink Front Door

On the left is with the screen door closed and on the right is with the screen door open.  Big difference, right?  I can’t decide if I should take the screen door off, thereby disappointing my kitties that love to look out the front door.  See Monty there on the right peeking out the tiny window?  So sad.  Obviously, the pink is much more pinkier when the screen door is open.  The effect I wanted.  I might start with the middle ground – replacing the screen with something newer that might not muddy the color up as much.

What do you all think?  Would you paint your front door pink?  I think the color looks great, and the whole porch will really come together once we have some flowers and a new outdoor rug to spruce it all up.

I hope you all have a lovely holiday weekend! Summer is here!

xoxoSara

