Tags

, , , , ,

RECENTLY I had the pleasure of visiting the Philadelphia row home of Percy Bright and Tara Mangini, the design duo behind Jersey Ice Cream Company.  This full-service interior design firm stemmed from the couple’s shared love of transforming a space, new or old, to work in harmony with their favorite vintage accessories and furniture.  While I photographed the entire home for a feature on Houzz.com, which you can check out here, I also was transfixed by the small details in each room.  Carefully styled vignettes infused the home with the type of personalization that you just don’t get from selecting the right paint color.  Check out some of my favorite moments from their home.

Vintage post cards, thank you notes and other mementos create a whimsical display in the third floor loft.  Tara described this vignette as a “junk drawer for all to see.”  I must say that the inside of my junk drawer doesn’t look this charming!

Embrace My Space: Philly Row House

A vintage typewriter sits atop an heirloom desk from Percy’s grandmother.  And the little hearts?  Perhaps some inspiration for typing love letters.

Embrace My Space: Philly Row House

Hundreds of vintage books the couple has collected at flea markets over the years create a visually stunning installation in the fireplace.  Moldings Percy salvaged from an abandoned North Philly school encase the fireplace.  He left the molding raw to create contrast with the smoky walls.

Embrace My Space: Philly Row House

The perfect amount of books, vintage glass bottles and shelves appear to have been collected effortlessly atop this vintage yellow dresser in the living room.Embrace My Space: Philly Row House

A vintage fan adds an industrial edge in the light and airy kitchen that Percy renovated himself.

Embrace My Space: Philly Row House

If you love these little moments from their home, you’ll be sure to love what Percy and Tara have done with the rest of the place.  Check out the article over at Houzz now!

xoxoSara

