Tags

, , , , , , ,

IT’S THOSE GRAY DAYS (or weeks) that make me long for my second home, Key West.  Today is one of those cold, damp days that makes me and many like-minded people curse their ancestors for settling in Pennsylvania.  Yeah, its got a lot of history and the winningest team in the NFL (sorry Eagles), but does it have palm trees??  Because on days like today, all I really want is a palm tree in my yard or the beach within walking distance.  To make it through the rest of my post in a more cheerful tone, I will just imagine this is my view today:

Embrace My Space-KW

Much better.  I have a really long list of reasons why I call Key West my second home.  Unfortunately, one of the reasons is not that I own a home there!  One of the real reasons is because I love the architecture of the homes on the island.  Victorian meets Caribbean style homes line the streets.  Vibrant colors are the rule, not the exception.  I can say with absolute certainty that Matt and I were the only ones in our Pittsburgh neighborhood whose home boasted a bright green door.  In Key West, however, we’d likely be sandwiched between a teal door on one side and a pink door on the other.

Since I’m such a huge fan of vibrant colors (especially on the front door) I thought it would be fun to share with you shots of my favorite Key West front doors.  I took these photos earlier this month when I was in Key West to ring in the new year.  Enjoy!

Embrace My Space:  Key West Front Doors

This first door represents true Key West to me. Weathered wood and rusted wrought iron set against a turquoise backdrop.  A little time-worn, but unique and beautiful at the same time.  If shabby chic isn’t your thing, you’ll appreciate the rest of these doors a little more than this one!

AU NATUREL:  Although I was just talking colorcolorcolor! many doors of Key West are gleaming wood without a lick of paint.  Take a look at a few of my favorites.

Embrace My Space:  Key West Front DoorsEmbrace My Space:  Key West Front DoorsEmbrace My Space:  Key West Front Doors

Embrace My Space:  Key West Front Doors

Embrace My Space:  Key West Front Doors

SHUT THE STORM DOOR:  Many Key West homes have storm shutters on the windows and doors.  Here are some shots of my favorite doors with shutters.Embrace My Space:  Key West Front Doors

Embrace My Space:  Key West Front Doors

Embrace My Space:  Key West Front Doors

Embrace My Space:  Key West Front DoorsEmbrace My Space:  Key West Front Doors

A SPLASH OF COLOR:  Finally, my favorite style, doors painted in all colors of the rainbow!  Embrace My Space:  Key West Front Doors

Embrace My Space:  Key West Front Doors

Embrace My Space:  Key West Front Doors

Embrace My Space:  Key West Front Doors

Embrace My Space:  Key West Front Doors

Embrace My Space:  Key West Front Doors

Embrace My Space:  Key West Front Doors

Embrace My Space:  Key West Front Doors

All these doors remind me, I really need to start thinking about a color for our new front door!  Your front door introduces guests to your home, and should act as a preview of what they’ll find once inside.  Right now our door is hunter green, which doesn’t really reflect the style or personality of our house (or us!).

Which style of front door is your favorite?  Do you prefer the classic look of a stained wood door or are you into a little color?  I really love the yellow storm door that pops against the main wood door and the blue wood siding.

xoxoSara

