Tags

, , , , , , , ,

HAPPY NEW YEAR!  Since I haven’t been around since Christmas I’m sure it wont come as a surprise to any of you that my new year’s resolution is not to post on the blog every day; or every week for that matter…

I hope you’ll forgive me after seeing the goodness that I have to share with you today.  Welcome to Southard Comfort, my friends!Embrace My Space: Southard Comfort

Our family tradition for the past seven or so years has been to spend the week following Christmas in sunny Key West, Florida.  This year we rented a deliciously decorated house on Southard Street in Old Town Key West.  The home, aptly named Southard Comfort, is a traditional conch house, which is a style of architecture developed by the island’s Bahamian immigrants in the 19th century.

Southard Comfort is decorated from top to bottom with artwork and decor that embraces the eclectic people and quirky vibe of the Conch Republic.  Although I was enamoured with the glossy red front door as soon as we pulled up to the home after a long day of travel from the cold North, my attention was quickly diverted to, well, everything that was hidden behind it!  Take a little peek at the foyer.

Embrace My Space:  Southard Comfort

With treasures filling every nook and color applied liberally to its walls, Southard Comfort is just what you’d expect to see in a traditional conch house.  Staying here brought back warm memories of our first place in Pittsburgh that Matt and I decorated with our love of Key West and all things beachy in mind.  As you all know,  it was a Key West conch house that inspired us to paint our front door the vibrant green that won us third place in HGTV’s fantastic front door contest!

With its flowing floor plan, weathered hardwood floors and intricate trim work,  Southard Comfort feels like a home rather than a vacation rental.  If you’re planning a trip to Key West, it’s worth checking out as a place to stay!  The full kitchen and dining room make it a family friendly spot to call home for a week.

Embrace My Space: Southard Comfort

Come back soon to see all of the delightful details hidden behind the glossy red door of Southard Comfort!

xoxoSara

