Tags

, , , , , , , ,

HAPPY THANKSGIVING to all of my American friends!  Today is a day that we gather around the table with our families to give thanks for all of our blessings.  I have so very much to be thankful for; an awesome husband, good health, a loving family and friends, a warm home, clean water, food in my belly, means to get from point A to point B, and so many other things that allow me to live a happy, comfortable life.

As I was thinking about how I would make my new home festive for Thanksgiving despite all of the boxes and empty walls, I realized that I should use an old standby from my first place.  My chalkboard!  Which brings me to the little thing that I’m thankful for – chalkboard paint!

This stuff is the best invention since I don’t know what – hot glue guns, maybe?  Especially in its spray paint form.  I made a DIY chalkboard to use as the menu at our wedding.

It was a pretty easy project.  I found an old thrift shop canvas in a gilt frame and spray painted over the canvas with several very thin layers of chalkboard paint.  I couldn’t bear to part with it after the wedding, so I gave it a spot on the gallery wall in our first dining room. 

I would change the sentiment with each holiday or season, and it became a fun sort of tradition for me.  Here is the one I did last winter. 

Then I updated it with my take on a “spring chicken” once the weather turned. 

With work, grocery shopping and centerpiece making all going on yesterday, I didn’t have a ton of time to do a new chalk masterpiece.  So I swapped out the text and found a random wall in our house where it would fit.  Boom. Done. 

I also wasn’t ready to say goodbye to my pretty peacock quite yet.  Doesn’t she look so lovely with her new feathery sister, which Matt gave to me as a housewarming gift?

While I was at it, I decided to pull out a few other chalkboards that had survived our wedding to make our place feel a bit more homey.  We made these guys for each table so our guests could find their seats.  After the wedding I erased all of the table names, wrote a message across a few of the chalkboards and lined them up across the window sill in our new place. I think they look so pretty glowing in the sun and it makes me happy to see them each morning.  They also remind me of my wedding, which was the best day of my life, and so many of the other things in life that I am thankful for.

I hope you all are enjoying a lovely Thanksgiving with your loved ones!  What are you thankful for?  What small pleasure makes your world a happier place?

xoxoSara

