Tags

, , , , , , , ,

EVERYONE LOVES A TRANSFORMATION, RIGHT?  I know I do!  What I love even more than the end product is the comparison of the Before-And-After photos.  If you’ve been to Embrace My Space over the past week, you’ve seen lots of photos of the progress in my in-laws’ soon-to-be-ultimate entertainment space (like the install of the live-edge walnut bar and bar shelving and choosing the perfect paint color for above the bar).  I’ve talked a lot about what’s going on in the bar area, but there has been major progress in the space overall that you haven’t seen yet.

I thought I’d share with you some Before photos of the entire space so that the After photos are even more impressive!  We aren’t quite yet to the Afters, but I think the Durings are pretty darn impressive, too.  You can be the judge of that.  Let’s start at the beginning.

BEFORE & AFTER:  View from bottom of the steps 

Did I mention that my mother-in-law works out?  She’s ripped!  She didn’t use any of that stuff anymore though (YOGA only, naysayers),  so out it went.  Whew….so much better.  Things to notice:

  • New Congoleum flooring
  • New Armstrong ceiling tiles (this product is an AWESOME fix for an otherwise ugly dropped ceiling that you can’t raise)
  • New ivory paint
  • No fluorescent lights
  • No teal trim
  • New live-edge walnut bar
  • New shelving above cabinetry
  • New wrought iron hand railing

Am I missing anything?  Oh, yeah, just a BAD ASS dual-sided gas fireplace that hides the hideous support pole that was stuck smack dab in the middle of the room.  If you want to install a fireplace in your basement this is a really cool way to hide a support pole that plagues the center of your room.  First, check with your local fireplace installer to make sure they can run the vent and gas line outside in a safe (and economical) manner.

BEFORE & AFTER:  View from front corner of room

This is going to be the lounging area.  In just a few days there will be a sofa where I was standing when I took this photo.  There are going to be a few other fun pieces of furniture filling this space as well.  From this vantage point you can see the lovely detail on the wrought iron hand railing,  which mimics the detail on the support that holds up the bar.  There’s a surprise in store for the fireplace.  It’s going to be even better very soon.  I can’t wait.  EEEEK!

BEFORE & AFTERBack corner of room next to bar

Here you can see the side of the bar with its Moorish detail on the support.  Love, love, love.  And that fireplace? It’s just as good from the other side; I can’t even stand it!  Even though it’s larger than the support pole, it doesn’t seem to make the space feel smaller.  Rather than being a nuisance like the pole, the fireplace serves to define the basement into two distinct areas:  (1) the bar area on this side and (2) the lounge area on the other side.  The spot where I stood to capture this photo will be home to a bistro-style table and two bar stools that will create a cozy little cocktail corner.

What do you guys think of the space so far?  I’m loving it all, but hey, I’m a bit biased!  Stay turned for more updates this week.

xoxoSara

